Weather Forecast


Swedish EU Committee supports the EU agreements

Friday, 09 December 2011
The Swedish EU Committee on Friday gave its approval to a Swedish participation in EU agreements that are being worked out.

Prime Minister Fredrik Reinfeldt received a telephone call during a meeting in the morning and instructed to go-ahead from the Committee to approve the euro zone protocol changes.
However, only the Swedish Left Party said no to all the counts.


The main message of the meeting was that Sweden will not participate in a any veto, or the treaty changes.
“We do not say no. We think that it is good that the euro countries come up with something in this chaos and we should not close any doors for the euro countries to sort out their finances,” says Marie Granlund of the Social Democrats who is Deputy Chairman of the committee.

“I'm very happy with the results when we had to avoid a bad compromise for the euro. That's what we have achieved,” she said, reports Reuters.

The statement came as Merkel returned to the EU summit's premises after the morning break in the negotiations.

Ten hours of negotiations , ended early Friday, with the 17 euro countries and six other EU countries (not so far Sweden and the UK) agreed to develop an intergovernmental agreement for greater fiscal discipline.

Merkel says she is pleased and thinks the world can now see that the EU has learned from his mistakes, according to media reports.
She compares the agreement which is now about to take shape with the Schengen agreement on joint border controls, which was first launched by an inner circle of EU countries (France, Germany, Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg) and since then has grown to include the people.

Euro countries' leaders wrote in their statement from the night of negotiations that the agreement between them should be confirmed by an international agreement, which would be the side of EU law and treaties. But the goal is to eventually get it into the EU treaties. The agreement must be signed by March next year.

The joint statement said six of the countries that have not adopted the euro intend to join the agreement later. The six are: Bulgaria, Denmark, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Romania.

Czech government said it must first consult with the Parliament. The same statement was given by Sweden during the meeting, but according to what the Prime Minister told TT after reading the text, it was doubtful that Sweden's interest was protected because the agreement is fully committed to the euro countries.
By Team

Report Error | Write to the editor | Complaint about this article | Print Friendly and PDF

 What do you think about this article? Could you leave a comment?
  • Should be Empty: